The Patrol Bureau is the heart of the Newark Division of Police and contains the largest number of personnel.  Roughly 75% of all sworn officers are assigned to Patrol.  The main duty of our patrol officers is to respond on calls for service while being on alert for crimes in progress and other hazards that affect quality of life issues for Newark citizens and visitors.

Divided into six patrol teams, each team is supervised by a Sergeant who reports directly to the Patrol Deputy Chief.  The six patrol teams work shifts as follows:

Team 1       7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.      Sunday – Wednesday
Team 2       7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.      Wednesday – Sunday
Team 3       4:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m.      Sunday – Wednesday
Team 4       4:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m.      Wednesday – Sunday
Team 5       10:00 p.m. to 8:00 a.m.    Sunday – Wednesday
Team 6       10:00 p.m. to 8:00 a.m.    Wednesday – Sunday